Featured · Post

The Marathoner

Emma Ross knows what’s up.

The Head of Physiology at the English Institute of Sport gives viewers the lowdown on the mechanics of a marathon runner, from body composition to mid-run hydration to the post-race cool-down.

I, for one, have never considered running a marathon before.  Heck, I’ve never even hatched an idea to train for one of those things.  26.2 miles?  I think I’ll stick to my 5K races, thank you very much.

That being said, after watching this video, I’ve developed a new kind of appreciation for the marathon runner.  While I’m still rather jealous about their legs (seriously, though, have you seen those thighs?) it takes a lot (a lot, a lot) of work to train the body to pace itself, to endure those sometimes grueling 26 miles.  So take a look at the video below, dear readers, and kudos to you runners that have the killer stamina I only wish I had.

Leave a Reply

